PHA Midyear Convention / ACC Extended Summit


PHA ACCESS NEWS ADVISORY (Jan 13) For the Jan15-16 midyear convention @ Edsa Shang Manila — The Midyear/ACCESS convention will proceed as scheduled but the PHA board will continue to monitor the situation and post updates. Skies have cleared up significantly in the northeastern part. Batangas area near the volcano and Tagaytay remains under alert due to the possibility of an eruption. Please be mindful of the travel advisory in your respective areas. Clearing operations are being done. We will post further announcements as we continue to monitor volcanic status.


49th Annual Convention

Over-all Chair: Nannette R. Rey, MD


Orlando R. Bugarin, MD


Aurelia G. Leus, MD


Jude Erric L. Cinco, MD

Sessions Coordinator

Gilbert C. Vilela, MD

Exhibits and Physical Arrangement

Ronald E. Cuyco, MD


Raul L. Lapitan, MD


Romeo B. Cruz


Atty. Darlene Marie B. Berberabe

Lay Participation

Jose Donato A. Magno, MD


Marcellus Francis L. Ramirez, MD

Convention Website

Don Robespierre C. Reyes, MD

Daily Newsbeats

Pedro P. San Diego Jr. MD

Information Technology



Chair: Ronald E. Cuyco, MD


Chair: Alex T. Junia, MD


Chair: Orlando R. Bugarin, MD

Co-Chair: Romeo B. Cruz

Continuing Education Program

Chair: Gilbert C. Vilela, MD

CEP Sub-Committee on Cardiology Training

Chair: Jude Erric L. Cinco, MD

Members are Chief Fellows of:

Philippine Heart Center (Adult)

Philippine Heart Center (Pedia)

St. Luke's Medical Center Quezon City

St. Luke’s Medical Center Global City

UP-Philippine General Hospital (Adult)

UP-Philippine General Hospital (Pedia)

Makati Medical Center

The Medical City

Cardinal Santos Medical Center

UST Hospital

Chinese General Hospital

Chong Hua Hospital

Perpetual Succour Hospital

University of Perpetual Help Dalta Medical Center

Manila Doctors Hospital

Angeles University Foundation Medical Center

De La Salle Medical Center

Councils and Chapters

Chair: Nannette R. Rey, MD

C o u n c i l s (2017-2020)

Eric Oliver Sison, MD

Cardiac Catheterizations & Interventions

Clara Tolentino, MD

Cardiac Pacing & Electrophysiology

Ma. Rosan Trani, MD

Cardiac Rehabilitation          

Gary A. Lopez, MD

Cardiomyopathy & Cor Pulmonale

Francis M. Lavapie, MD

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation

Chito Permejo, MD

Cardiovascular Anesthesia & Critical Care

Avenilo Aventura Jr., MD

Cardiovascular Surgery

Edward-Bengie Magsombol, MD

Cardiovascular Imaging

Maria Celia Regino, MD

Congenital Heart Disease

Luigi Pierre Segundo, MD 

Imelda Caole-Ang, MD – CAD Registry

Coronary Artery Disease

Bridget Donato-Fernandez, MD


Michael Joseph Agbayani, MD

Heart Failure      

Lourdes Bunyi, MD


Elmer Joseph Llanes, MD

Preventive Cardiology          

Juliet J. Balderas, MD

Rheumatic Fever-Rheumatic Heart Disease

Marilou de Jesus, MD

Stroke & Peripheral Vascular Disease

Cynthia F. de Lara, MD

Aileen Cynthia F. De Lara, MD 

Women’s Health


Joseph Dimaano, MD

Northern Luzon

Justina Calibuso, MD


Valeriano Combate Jr., MD

Cagayan Valley

Gabriel Jocson, MD

Central Luzon

Marian Manalo, MD

Southern Tagalog

Maribel Gutierrez-Cayetano, MD


Delia Caracut, MD


Ma. Belen Balagapo, MD

Eastern Visayas

Rhodelyn Almenana, MD

Western Visayas-Panay 

Allan Tenerife, MD

Western Visayas-Negros Occidental

Ana Lisa Gonzale, MD

Northwestern Mindanao

Judy Theresa Fortinez, MD

Davao-Southern Mindanao

Amilbahar Karim, MD

Zamboanga Peninsula


Elections and Nominations

Chair: Raul L. Lapitan, MD


Alex T. Junia, MD

Joel M. Abanilla, MD 


Chair: Norbert Lingling D. Uy, MD

External Affairs and Lay Awareness

Chair: Atty. Darlene Marie B. Berberabe


Chair: Romeo B. Cruz


Orlando Bugarin, MD

Rody G. Sy, MD

Rafael R. Castillo, MD

Cesar S. Recto II, MD

Heart Month

Chair: Nannette R. Rey, MD

International Affairs

Chair: Eleanor A. Lopez, MD


Chair: Jorge A. Sison, MD


Raul L. Lapitan, MD

Alex T. Junia, MD 


Chair: Aurelia G. Leus, MD


Saturnino P. Javier, MD

Editor-in-Chief, Philippine Journal of Cardiology

Don Robespierre C. Reyes, MD

Editor-in-Chief, NewsBriefs/Newsbeats

Jose Donato A. Magno, MD

Chair, Website


Chair: Alisa P. Bernan, MD

Task Force on Community Service

Chair: Jude Erric L. Cinco, MD

World Heart Day

Chair: Aurelia G. Leus, MD


World Heart Day

Camp BraveHeart

Healthy Lifestyle Campaign

Heart Fair

Contact Us

Call Us: +63 2 8470-5525, 8470-5528
              +63 2 8687-7797

Email Us: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Suite 1108, 11th Flr. East Tower, PSE Centre, 8Exchange Road Ortigas Center, Pasig City, Philippines

Follow Us